Cooking vs. Baking

This might only be understandable to those of you who do cook but I will take my chances. Recently I have taken up shooting Sporting Clays. We have 3 shotguns for this. An Over/Under and 2 pump action. Like I have mentioned, I am a target shooter with a high power rifle. These 2 disciplines are COMPLETELY different!

With high power, you have to hold strong, read the wind and mirage. It is very still, technical and precise. This is like baking. Baking is exact and technical. You deviate at all and you miss your target. With moving targets, sporting clays, you need to relax, move, be creative and  follow through. This is like cooking. Cooking is not technical. Being relaxed and creative is encouraged. Here is the odd part. I love to cook and could care less about baking. I don’t have the patience for it!

So why do I love high power? I love the challenge. I am such a right brain (creative) person that the skill needed for high power is very left brain and I am craving that. I come off the range at the end of a match exhausted. I am concentrating so much on all the little dials on my rifle. There is the front site and rear site. There is the front and rear aperture. There is the windage dial. There is even an adjustable cheek piece and shoulder piece. Then there is the weather, light, and the dreaded wind. All of these things need to be managed every time you pull that trigger. Phew! I am tired now thinking about it. (The photo above is me at Rattle Snake Ridge in Tri-Cities, WA. The most evil place on the planet to shoot. 25 m/p/h winds is a good day.)

Today will be busy. I am leaving work early to head to the rifle range and practice some off-hand with my AR. Then we go to another range at 5:00 to shoot sporting clays. I am ready! I have mentally been following those disks, pulling trigger and following through. I have 2 different hats to wear today. My cooking hat and my baking hat. I can’t mix these up or my cake will fall flat.

“Shoot like a girl! If you can…………”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

