"Can’t We All Just Get Along?"

I keep mentioning all of the different disciplines of shooting and their respective competitions. There are tons! With each gun type there are at least a dozen niches of competitions. Personally I think each one is interesting, fun and challenging. The odd thing is, there sometimes is a bias mindset or kind of prejudice within the community. All shooters should have one goal in common. Keep this sport alive. Do not let the government take away our rights to own guns. (I will stop there. This is a topic that can go on forever) OK! I admit I do joke about scope shooters! See? It happens even on a “just kidding” level.

In a way, each group tends to look down their nose at another group. We all feel what we do is the coolest sport. Each group may dress differently. We all need our specific pants or coats with niche pockets or holsters, etc. I will also admit there is a stereotype to each group. If you drive in to a range that has multiple ranges for each discipline you will notice each section has a “look” about it. I caught myself one time at a practice match at the 600 yard line. There was my high power group on one end of line and a hunting group siting in from benches at the other end. With my ear plugs in and in “my louder than normal out loud voice” I said “Gee, they look different than we do don’t they?” I was joking but realized how juvenile I really sounded. Especially when a couple of them looked over at me. DUH!! What a dork I can be. Sorry to all disciplines if I have offended thee! What you do is awesome. Shooting is awesome.

“Shoot Like a Girl! If You Can……..”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to "Can’t We All Just Get Along?"

  1. Koyo4011 says:

    Aren't you the one who sent out the "geezer position sucks" email 🙂

Leave a Reply

