600 Yard Target for High Power Rifle

These things are HUGE! They have to be! Image being 600 YARDS away. 6 football fields! That is me standing next to one pulled down in to the pits. As big as the entire target frame is, please notice that the x ring is still the size of a salad plate. That little white disc is what marked my last score that I shot. An X. NO SCOPES. Sorry, do I keep beating that dead horse?

Well, I have to brag that at that distance I can dance my shots around the X ring. I am not going to play too much during a big match but it is great practice. Assuming the wind is fairly constant, if I hit an X at about 3:00, I can then move a 1/4 minute left and hit the left side of the X ring. To do this you need to be able to call your shots. For instance, I know my rifle is completely sighted in for this distance. The only variable after that is the wind. When I fire a round, I can tell you where I think it will land. I can see that I may have favored right, left, high or low and even in which ring, X or 10. I need to know this so that if the wind changed all of a sudden and pushed me somewhere else I will know how it happened and can adjust for the next shot. It is also needed as a skill for team events. In team events let’s say I am the one shooting, I have a coach next to me with his spotting scope reading the wind for me. I just have to line up the shot and hold steady to fire when he tells me to. When I fire I need to tell where my shot broke so he knows if he was correct on reading the wind or if wind changed suddenly and pushed me out. Pretty cool eh?

“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can……..”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Compettion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

