Ouch! That Smarts!

Shooting does not come without its share of hazards. One of which is flying brass. When a gun shoots, it ejects brass shells. Very hot brass shells. When in competition during the rapid fires there is a long line of shooters only 2-3 feet apart. The person to my left has his brass flying out in my direction. One can put shields on to direct brass to fly where they want it but most don’t. I can count on two hands now how many times a VERY HOT PIECE OF BRASS landed down my neck in my jacket or down my sleeve. The problem is your are in the middle of fire and God forbid you stop to remove it! You finish the string then reach in and peal the brass off of your skin that has now left a cherry red 2nd degree burn. Ouch. That will leave a scar.

Just today we were at an indoor range shooting pistols and a sub-machine gun! The machine gun I will talk about in my next entry. A shell ejected, bounced off the wall next to me and lodged itself inside my protective eye glasses and the corner of my eye. In this case it was just practice so I was able to snatch it out quickly. It still left a nice red stripe I will have for a week or so. I would say my most memorable injury was also during a rapid fire but had nothing to do with flying brass. This is one of those “Not If But When” scenarios.

Targets came up meaning the timer had started for the 60 seconds to shoot 10 rounds with one magazine change. With the AR15 the bolt is on the right and the bolt release to close the bolt is on the left side. I have to reach my finger over the top of rifle and snap the release. One’s pinky finger is usually held up a bit as not to get in the way of the bolt. This day my pinky was too close and I closed the bolt on it. Imagine smashing your finger in a car door but now the door has razor sharp teeth. For some reason I did not yell with pain. I was so focused on finishing the rapid fire I did not even see the pile of blood gathering below my right hand. When I was done I saw a group standing behind with mouths open wondering how I even finished. I guess I scored more “Cool” points for that one. But let me tell you! I will NEVER do that again. They say you forget pain. I won’t forget that.

“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can……..”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

