Robin Hood PNW State Championship April 24th

Yesterday I drove up to Bellingham to Plantation Rifle Club for the Robin Hood State match. It is a 300 yard match with condensed 600 yard targets. I am telling you those little targets are tough. The X ring is the size of a silver dollar. There were 4 strings of 20 shots for record. Normally there are only 3 strings to a match. I think yesterday was the coldest day of the year. Raining. Freezing. Windy. Lovely.

I cleaned 1st, 2nd and 3rd Strings. But Jennifer and David (young whipper snappers shown in photo) were way ahead of me by X counts. These two are amazing shooters! I thought I would never win this. I can’t catch up. When I was done shooting my last shot of the 3rd string, David came up to me and said I was the only one who cleaned it. They all dropped one point! Now I have to clean string 4 to win the whole thing! X count would not matter at that point! How exciting, my first overall win of a big tournament! Did I make it?

No. The last string I dropped one point. A high 9. I did not call it at all. It was my ammo. I swear! 🙂 (That story next) I was fighting all day and holding hard to keep bullets from flying out of the 10 ring. That one did get away. My heart just sank. Yes, I still tied for 1st but came back down to 3rd place because they had more X’s than I did. I still got many pats on the back. I need to remember that I only dropped one point out of 800! That is a record for me. WOW! Cool!

“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can……….”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

