Boom! Phhht….

What was that? Today was a practice match at 600 yards at the Paul Bunyan Range in Puyallup, WA. (Yes, that is him in the photo. Kozmo looks tiny next to him!) I was in the pits today pulling targets when we were radioed from the line about a guy trying to shoot his 40/65 and to watch out for short bullets. It was Gene who was at the target next to me who had to pull the target for this guy. I am usually only surrounded by 223 or 308 bullets. When in the pits and bullets fly over you here a very loud “crack”. They are supersonic. Gene told me to listen for a “boom” from the 600 line then a “phhht” when it hits the target. Sure enough! “Boom! from way back there and phhht at the target!”

600 yards is a long way for that caliber from a black powder cartridge rifle to travel! It was subsonic. I swear I could actually see the bullet hit the target. It also leaves a much bigger hole. I don’t know why but I was waiting for every shot that came down. It was really bizarre. I loved hearing it! Look at the size of the bullet sitting next to the rifle in case! The bottom photo shows this case next a 223 case.

I tested my final load today. We made it longer to touch the lands. (Remember the throat erosion blog I wrote about?) Wow! I shot 2 strings. The first with a 199 and 16X. The second was 200 and 16X. Yea Baby! Palma St. Championships? Here I come! Now let’s hope the wind does not blow. 🙂

“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can……….”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

