Ouch! "Snake" bites hurt!

Gee, I started the day so well. It was windy from the start today but not too strong yet. Still switchy. I managed to clean 800 yards with an 11 X. I think I won 800 yards. Then at 900 I dropped 9 points. So did most others. I am still in the running! Then came 1000. OUCH!

The winds kicked up a ton. I ended 1000 with about 12 minutes of wind. I was humming along with only about 2 points down and a huge gust came up and blew me OFF the target. Darnit. That’s not really what I said but I am trying to keep this PG rated. Then I could not keep up with the switches. It got ugly. That one string put me down in to 12th place or something. Everyone had an incredible fight.

We ended the day with the 900 yard team event. Boy was I glad I was not coaching our team this afternoon. I think Ricky, our coach, put anywhere from 12 – 18 minutes on our rifles. At one point we were on our last shooter Layne. Ricky and he waited about 15 minutes to see if the conditions would change. They did not. He asked for some back up opinions and that is why you see several people looking through scopes in the photo. I am standing in the pink hat. Had just finished shooting.  It was worth the wait. They finished the last 4 shots with an X, 10, 9 and 10. Whew! We were just trying to keep the bullets on paper. Our team and another got a couple of “misses”. The “Juniors” did really well. My team was in 1st place yesterday. I think we are now in second. All scores will be published tomorrow. Tomorrow…..

There is another day to redeem myself or torture myself more. This place humbles you. It is pretty cool though. I would not trade this experience for anything.

“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can………”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

