International Shooting Format VS US Format

I mentioned I was going to shoot in Canada next month for the BC 126th Championship. I am doing so not only because it is meant to be a beautiful place to shoot but that I need experience in international rules. This is for the bolt action for prone competition. We have our format in the US.

At our matches each shooter has one long block of time to fire their rounds on their target. For example, 22 minutes for 2 sighters and 20 shots for record. We also have a person scoring for us behind us. What I like about this format is that I have all of that time to watch the wind and if it is tough wind conditions I can wait for my favored wind conditions to come back and then I can fire when I want. International is very different.

Their matches are scheduled to the minute! You are given a relay, say I am relay 1 on target 4. I am given a schedule. I have a starting and ending time. It is to the minute! Instead of 15 (for Palma) or 20 rounds for record, they only shoot 7 or 10 rounds for record. I am given a start time I need to be at my position. But! I have to shoot with another person at my target. We are pair firing basically. When the timer starts I have 45 seconds to get off one round. When my target comes up with the score, the other guy/gal has to write down my score and then take his shot. All in 45 seconds. Then I score for him and on and on until all 10 rounds have been fired.

My concern for this is that since we only have 45 seconds I am forced to adjust my sights to the wind rather than wait for it to come back to my favored spot. So I need to keep REALLY good notes on where I have last adjusted my sights so that if the wind has changed directions since I shot last, I know where to go. So the quicker time limit, remembering to score for the other person and tracking my sights in 45 seconds makes me a bit nervous! But I look forward to it!

Very structured on scheduling and time limits. Another interesting detail of these matches is that they break for lunch! How civilized! White table linens and silver ware?

“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can………..”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

