I Have Arrrived! Camp Perry

Yea! I am here! I arrived last night actually. My flight was easy, the drive from Detroit was easy. Checked in to my hotel. Everything has been so smooth I hope that is a sign for the week ahead. Although, it is really hot and tomorrow and Sunday may have some storms, I am prepared. This morning when I was checking in to get my credentials on base I was immediately swarmed by mosquitoes. EEK! They love me too much. I have lots of bug spray. They are not going to get me this time. I have tons of sunscreen and a great wide floppy hat, rain gear, etc. I picked up my gear from Bud today. He drove mine and some other’s shooting stuff out here. I have rifle put back together and cart packed. READY!

Port Clinton is a tiny yet very charming coastal (fresh water) town. Right at bottom edge of Lake Eerie. Nationals is a big deal every year at this time and brings a lot of money to the town. They even decorate their yards for us. (Notice shooting flamingos in photo) Great garden art!! I would say my only complaint is the food. Not a lot of choices and the one “great” seafood joint that all the locals go to deep fries everything. I had dinner there last night and had perch and shrimp. My platter came out with the deep fried perch, shrimp, onion rings and dinner roll. A very beige plate! I will say it was tasty but enough food for 3 people. Not to mention enough oil. Only $10. One nice thing is there is not a Starbucks to be found. I finally found a local coffee shop on a side street in town. My triple americano was only $2!!!! At home it is usually around $3.50. The locals here are super friendly. No, I won’t be moving here anytime soon. I could not deal with the weather. But I love the laid back feeling.

Tomorrow at 8am is roll call at the Vaile Range, 1000 yard,  target #82 and I am 4th relay. Sunday will be 1st relay, Monday is 2nd. Then the team matches Tuesday and Wed. Oh boy! Here we go!!!

“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can……”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

