Camp Perry Nationals Day 2

Today was not as “WOW” as yesterday but it was still a good day. We had only one individual match and one team event. I was on relay 1 this morning. As I walked out to my car this morning the fog was so thick I could not see across the street. “Uh oh”. Getting to the range you could not see the target area at all. “So they delay shooting for heavy fog right?” Well it lifted “a little” by the time I started shooting. I had my sights open so far and the target was still a gray blurry blob. I dropped 5 points right off the bat in my first 6 shots. Then a slight increase in light at the  targets. I played with sights again and I could see! Well, at least it was a firmer gray blurry blob. Of course it cleared up beautifully for every relay after mine. I cleaned the rest of the string. I had a 195/200 with I think 9 or 10 X. Sorry my log book is in the rental car. I was not in the shoot-off today.

We did have another Washingtonian in it, Trevor Massey. The 4 Palma shooters were neck and neck through most of the string and then shots were dropped at different times but still keeping them even. It was exciting actually. Close race.

My team match was interesting. We did ok. I had never met the 3 other shooters before. Bob Gamboa was our coach and of course I know him. I was the first shooter. It was bright sunshine by this time of day. I tightened the front sight way down and held hard! I kept hearing the scorer call several 9’s and an 8. I was freaked! I don’t see the targets since I don’t have a scope next to me so I don’t know where my shots are and if they are my mistakes or the wind mistakes. So when I was done I looked at Bob and asked how many shots were my bad ones and he said “none”. He showed me the plots in his book and I had a near perfect water line of shots. Whew! I did my job. If I want to get on the US Palma Team that is what I have to do. Hold hard and pull the trigger and make a good shot. Wind is controlled by the coach, and well, the wind. Not much I can do otherwise. So I am very happy again today with how I shot. Thanks Bob for coaching well and being so supportive of me! (He told the Palma Team Captain about my shots and gave me great reviews)

Since I dropped the 5 points today it put me in about 7th place overall. But I can come back with a great day tomorrow. I am still in the game baby! I am second relay. Hopefully the dark skies will be gone by then.

The photo here is of the shoot off today. You can see the mini target frames that the scorers put pasters on exactly where the shooters fired. I am taking the photo right where everyone is sitting and watching. See what I mean? Pressure!

I do wish Charles was here.  Sigh…..

“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can……….”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

