Coming Home is Bitter Sweet

Coming home from Perry I was on “Cloud 9”. Such a successful trip for me personally. I had so much to be thankful for. And not just how well I did. I was going to mention a memory that stood out of Perry. Every morning the base presents Colors before the matches. I was down on the low end of the range first day and heard the call for Colors. Like a film had taken time and frozen it, everyone, no matter what they were in the middle of immediately turned toward the flag and canon. About 500 people at attention and facing the same direction. The canon goes off and the Anthem plays. Every morning I would get goose bumps from it. (I took a photo on the last day when I snuck down to very end of line. Not many people left. I was afraid to be disrespectful but I wanted to have this image) We live in the best place on earth. But I also think of all of the “Changes” we have had since 1/09/09 and it scares me to think what we may be moving towards. Hold on tight.

I also came home to bad news about my dad. He went in to the hospital that same evening. He is officially in the final stages of Parkinson’s and has been committed to Hospice care. Not knowing how much or if at all he understands we are with him, I still talk to him as though he does understand. We are trying to let him know we love him and that we know he loves us and it is ok to let go if he can. He may be in this state for awhile though. We can only make him as comfortable as possible. Dad served as a pilot in the Air Force and met my mom, who is German (who was just leaving the US from an exchange program) on a ship over to Europe. It is a long and charming story but they got married after only 6 weeks! By proxy! He was based in Texas and mom was in Germany. She did move here and had to spend time at the base in Texas. Then they moved to Spokane, then Seattle and settled there. Such a great life they had together. Mom of course was looking forward to the Golden Years with him. Then he was diagnosed with Parkinson’s about 12 years ago. Family friends are reminding me of truly funny stories about him. He had the best dry sense of humor that would catch people off guard. The most patient yet strong man. My hero. Although I will say that I did not get my shooting skills from dad. He could not hit the broad side of a barn. 🙂 But my mom could. She can hit clay pigeons like crazy and she has never really been taught anything. He is still my hero.

“Shoot Like A Girl! Or Mom. If You Can…………”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

