Rattlesnake Long Range Regional Day 2

A first for me since I have been coming to Rattlesnake. VERY LITTLE WIND. I had at most about 5 minutes at 1000 yards today. Early in the day the wind was at 6:00 and light and consistent. And warm. I was not freezing my tush off as usual. The only bad side was the rain. It was on and off through the day. Quite a few more people arrived for today’s match. Not a huge group but enough to make a good competition. About 35 or so?

Today was a good and bad day. Good was that I only dropped 6 points. Bad was that I should not have dropped that many. The conditions were too good. I had 2 malfunctions. One was “wardrobe” and two was me. The iris piece on my rear sight had a “fuzzy” in it. I had 3 different people see it when they looked through it. Whew. I am not crazy. Well, not a lot anyway. I could not blow it out. I stopped in middle of string and borrowed an eye piece from Don (from Bend, OR) who was scoring for me. Thank you Don! Took a little to get used to it but it was fine. Then I could just not focus. My right eye has been bugging me for a few weeks and it seems to be the same problem I had early this year. I had an eye infection from my contacts. My Doc said I should not where them so much since my eyes are not liking them anymore. But I don’t want to wear glasses! Of course I am wearing my glasses now as I write this and my eyes feel so relieved. I will wait until I get to the range tomorrow before I put contacts back in. I can’t shoot with my glasses since they are not made for shooting. One needs a special lens made that has the prescription spot at an angle. Like today I just have to keep resting my eyes between shots and hope target will come in to focus. I was always the last shooter out there today. Oh well!

Tomorrow is similar to today minus the last ANY ANY match. So even with my “issues” today, I ended the day as 3rd place Match Winner in the Palma. I am still not sure about the ANY ANY match. I thought I saw 1st High Master but I still think that means about 4th place or so. I hope to have a second chance tomorrow but Bud Solis only dropped 1 point today and Judy from Canada only dropped 2. Tough! My only hope is that I clean and that they…..well….don’t. Good shooting everyone!

“Shoot Like A Girl! IF You Can……….”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

