29 Palms Long Range Regional – Day 1 – Ugh

Not a good start for me. As usual I get to the range at least 45 min early and we don’t even start until almost 9:00! Supposed to start at 7. Forget it, tomorrow I show up at 7. Then my first string and second string were all over the place. None of the shots were where I called them. Most were weird elevation shots. Conditions were not bad at all. Then it dawned on me that my barrel is pretty full. Every barrel and shooter is different but I am well over 3500 rounds. I have never shot a barrel to the end before. I was just asking someone the other day what to look for. “Crazy unexplained shots”. I had my share today. No rhyme or reason. I tried different things to apertures, etc. My 3rd string was better by about 3 points but still not good. Oh well. I will keep shooting tomorrow and see how it goes. I don’t mind wind blowing me around but elevation up and down without making changes is not acceptable. Gee, then to add some humor I looked down and realized my shirt was on inside out. All day! That’s what I get for dressing in the dark at 5:30am.

Bright side is the weather was gorgeous again today. May be bad tomorrow and for sure Saturday will be about 20 degrees colder. One of the Marines on my line was shooting with a cool rifle. An M14-ish, pistol stock-ish, scope. Not sure what is was. But kind of cool. Photo at right. Middle photo is me and bottom photo is Gary Rassmusen who kicked butt today. Shooting a scope and only dropped 5 points all day. He cleaned the second string. Nice job Gary.

Well, tomorrow is another day.

“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can…….”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

