29 Palms Long Range Regional – Day 2 – Humbling and Yea

Humbling in two ways. One, my theory of the barrel being shot is way off. Two, I still had a bit of trouble on first string but second string I did well. And the yea?  My team kicked butt. We won the team event. Only dropped 10 points. Gary, John, Walley and I were team mates. I was not able to get a photo of us in time. Walley left right away and I realized I did not get the photo.

Why is my barrel ok? When Gary coached me in the team event my shots were all perfect water line. I dropped one 9 high which I specifically called. So what the heck was wrong with me on my own? Gary seemed to think I take too long to shoot my strings. I am trying too hard. I think he is right. When I started out shooting this I did not know better and shot super fast when I even thought conditions were ok. I got great scores. Lately I have been studying every shot so much it takes me almost the entire time limit to shoot my string. It just seems to be the 1000 yard line that I am fighting with. I am sure everyone feels the same but I really want to master the wind reading back there. Actually, I need to master my mental game.

Tomorrow is the High Power Match across the course. I will arrive in the morning to shoot but if it evens hints rain I am heading to mom’s house instead. Not sure if I mentioned mom lives near by in Palm Desert. I was planning on driving over after the match tomorrow but if the weather does as it predicts, rain and cold, I am outta there! I did not come to sunny Palm Springs to shoot in the rain. I can do that at home. I know, “Want some cheese with that whine?” Yep.

“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can……”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

