Testing more Competition Pistols

Still on a mission to purchase a competition pistol, Charles and I went to try out West Coast Armory an indoor range on the East side of Seattle. I like this place! Spotlessly clean. Friendly staff. They even had a gun cleaning room! Will make my way back there soon. We twisted the arm of our friend Brian to come along and bring his custom pistols. Trust me, Brian needed no arm twisting to play hooky for the day and go shooting. Brian has been competing in USPSA and “3 Gun”(IMGA) matches for quite some time. Brian has a “from the ground up” custom 40 cal pistol and an upgraded 1911 45 cal.  Shown at right in first photo is Brain’s “race gun” for Limited Class of USPSA built by John Larson. It is amazing the difference in triggers when you pit a custom piece next to a stock piece. It is like Beluga Caviar next to Farmed Caviar. Ok on it’s own but NOT next to each other in comparison. Brian’s custom 40 cal costs just as much as my custom Palma Rifle! Is this like the eansy weansy bikini is more expensive than the one piece? The less fabric the more expensive. Sheesh!


I brought out my brother’s stock Springfield XDM 40 that he let me borrow. The farmed raised caviar. Sorry Peter. I aimed at the bull’s eye and had holes in the black but a bit all over the place. I pulled out Brian’s custom 40cal, Beluga caviar, and shot a very tight group in the center!  I am not blasting the XDM. Great pistols and seem to be popular with competitors. This one just needs a better trigger and front sight. I also shot Brian’s upgraded match 1911 45cal next to ours that we own. Very nice! When you have these easy triggers it is more fun and accurate to do a “Zombie Kill” or “Mozambique”. 2 shots in the chest, one in the head. Hee-hee.  Another thing I noticed is that I am no longer

afraid of the 45 cal. I thought it was such a beast before.
Now that I have been using it more I quite like it. It is
still difficult for me to handle it and I have big hands for a gal.
It is locking bolt back in open position that is tough but that
would just get easier with practice. My favorite so far is the
40cal. When finished at W. Coast Armory we drove to
Bellevue for lunch and decided to pop in to Wade’s Gun
Range also to brows their store. What a day eh?

We spent a long time with a very helpful associate who pulled
out several pistols to look at. They had a S&W M&P 9 Pro.
Off the rack this this is competition ready. This is a polymer
gun and it had a bright green front sight. Love that. I know this is old hat to many of you but like I said, the pistol category is a whole new entity for me. The last few weeks have been a wealth of new knowledge and I am soaking up every bit of it. But my brain is a bit overloaded. So many brands and calibers to choose from. So many price ranges. Then who to bring it to to have triggers and/or sights upgraded? The minute we got home I had several emails from Brian of links to several pistol options. It amazes me that prices can range from $700 – $3500. $3500!!!! Like I said, my Palma rifle with a hand carved walnut stock with hand-checkered pistol grip cost that much. Ok, maybe a bit more when you add on sights. CRAZY!! Why am in this sport? It is awesome. That is why.

“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can………..”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

