Sighting in New Palma Rifle – Oops

A couple of days ago I grabbed all of my gear. Old and new Palma rifles, check. Warner sight, check. Front Right Sight, check. Shooting jacket, glove, sling, mat, scope and tools – check. I drove out to the Kenmore range to meet Bud who always graciously helps me with this stuff. We unpacked everything, set it up. I get in to my jacket and strap in to old rifle. We measure distances of my position from shoulder to trigger, trigger to front sight, eye to rear sight, etc. Want to set up new rifle with all the same measurements to place parts the same way. Warner sight installed at rear and Right Sight base is heading towards front of barrel. Smack. Push. Shove. Twist. Does not fit!

To no ones fault, Jim my gunsmith who built the gun had the barrel tip at just over 3/4″ inch. My front sight base is smaller by 1/8″. So back to Jim it goes to be trimmed down. I will meet Bud again next Monday and start over. Then the old rifle goes to Jim also to have a new barrel put on. When I finished in Phoenix last month I realized I had over 4000 rounds through it. Could have explained some of the weird shots? Anyway, I can’t wait for the new rifle to be sighted in!  I will be able to start shooting it and get myself and it acquainted better. It will go down to Sacramento and Phoenix with me in March. It….. I should name her, my rifle, yea? How about Carmen. Like the main female character in the Opera Carmen. A beautiful, strong, charismatic and fiery tempered gal. Appropriate I think. Yes. Her name is Carmen.

30calgal
“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can………..”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

