Coaching a Rapid Fire Clinic at Cascade Rifle Range

Friday night my cell phone rang and I could see Valentine’s name on my caller id. I knew immediately what he would be calling for. Val is a range master at Cascade club and puts on clinics for people who want to get in to the High Power Rifle Across The Course. Every two weeks they have the class. First week is the Offhand clinic, 2nd week is rapid fire seated and possible prone rapid if time and 3rd week is slow prone at 600 yards. So many people have been showing up to the clinics that he needs many volunteers of current and experienced competitors. But tomorrow was Saturday. My husband and Kozmo (our dog) were going out of  town and I had the weekend and the condo to myself to play! I really
did not want any obligations. But alas I knew I needed
to help out. We all need to put in our time at the range.
But mostly we want lots of new shooters! Anything I
can do for The Cause. So I did answer the phone.

I think Val thought he was going to have to bribe me to
show up. Knowing it was to be very cold he promised
me my own gas space heater. What a sweetie! It was
a great turn-out again. A good sign that 28 out of the
30 were also at the offhand class. Must mean they like
it. They came back. Now, to teach position shooting.

If you are not familiar with position shooting in this sport it is very difficult to explain. For seated rapid fire and rapid prone you need a leather or webbing strap from you arm to the front of the rifle. You then crank it in tight and contort yourself in to a “comfortable” (all relative) position. (The photos show the seated and prone position.) (Ok, me in the shorts was a photo from my first match ever 7 years ago. Did not know shorts were not practical.) Now, I just know how to set my sling and cramp it tightly around arm, wrap my left hand through it and hold on to rifle and slink down in to position. Sounds easy! Ugh. It took me months to really figure it out. So this was a challenge to show someone else. First of all, it IS awkward. 2nd, it IS NOT comfortable! How do you convince someone this is fun? Another obstacle for many is that they do not have the fancy shooting jackets you need if you are competing. There is a reason for them. It gives something for sling and rifle butt to grab on to. A couple people had nylon jogging jackets on. Things were slipping all over the place and they were frustrated they could not find a position. At least now they know to wear something with texture to start out with. Anything but nylon! So now I have another goal.

I have been wanting to instruct. I am working my way to get NRA certified to instruct pistol and rifle. The NRA’s rifle instruction is more general so it won’t cover this discipline. But it will get me in the right direction. My goal is to find a way to describe to a new shooter the ah-ha moment of finding these positions. And then of course to like it and come back and try it again. Me, “So does your back hurt and is your arm and hand falling asleep? Ah-ha! Then you have found the position!” Student, look of horror.

30calgal
“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can……..”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

