500 Yard Prone Match. Lost by a "Creedmoor"

What is a Creedmoor you ask? If you tie someone in a match with exact score and exact X count, you need to determine the winner by the final shot of the day. Whoever got an X on the last shot will take it. If they both got an X then you keep counting back shots. At Machias today in the still winter like conditions of Seattle we had a 500 yard prone match. It did not take long for me to drop a 9 today. I think it was around the 5th round in the first string. I just could not get comfortable. I pulled the shot out to the right. I called it. Sure enough a 9. The second string was a lovely 200 with 18X. OK, I am still in this I am thinking. 3rd string I had a trigger finger freeze!

You are in position. The site looks great and you are ready to pull the trigger. But nothing is happening. My brain and finger were not connecting. I could not pull the trigger! I should have taken the round out and dry fired a few shots. Instead I forced it and pulled another 9. Well I thought I was out of the running for sure at that point. No one in the winners circle would drop 2 points right? Well, never give up. You never know what the others are doing. Kelly Bachand cleaned today with 47 X. Nice! Then it was Bud Solis and I competing for 2nd place. I had no idea. We both had 598/600 with 41X. Congrats to Tanner Dennison who won the service rifle category. Jay Christopherson won the F Class.

I guess I can’t expect to have the Magic Mojo with me every time I compete. Although it would be nice. Still, very nice scores today. I am happy. Tomorrow we have the first approved High Power Across The Course match. Dusting off my AR again and out I go. Can’t wait! I miss shooting the “little guy”.

30calgal
“Shoot Like A Girl! IF You Can……”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

