2011 WA ST Palma Championship – Rattlesnake – Day 1 – :)

Wardrobe malfunction? No. Ammo and rifle malfunction. A big one. Friday, day 1 at Rattlesnake brought us very warm weather and sunny skies. Today’s match consisted of 800, 900 and 1000 yards in the individuals and 800 yards for the Team event. The winds were actually quite mild for this place although still switchy. I have to pat myself on the back. Last year at this match I really struggled reading and understanding the wind. I have had many matches under my belt since then all over the country and it has paid off. I only dropped 9 points all day. Everyone who shoots here knows that is a great score. For the day I ended up in 2nd place overall. David Littlefield in 1st, Kelly Bachand in 3rd and Jennifer Nyberg in 4th. After our scores the rest of the pack fell down quite a bit.

For the team event I am a member of the Wranglers team. David L, Rich V, Wayne B and I. As I had mentioned before, this was an honor to be asked to shoot with these guys. They have had a tight group for a long time and I am part of it now. At the 800 yard line we also ended up in 2nd place for the day. Somehow…. I had a disaster in ammunition and rifle malfunction. I loaded a round in the chamber and went to close the bolt when it would not close. I knew from my match at Plantation that this meant only one thing. I blew a primer in the previous round and it is stuck somewhere in the chamber. Rich my coach asked what was happening. At this point I was out of position with my rifle pointing down range but up over the berm. I demonstrated that the bolt would not close and when it actually did close this time the gun went off! We both, well especially me looked in horror. I was not worried about the round going anywhere bad. We are in the middle of nowhere. But that is considered a shot fired which means it is a miss. 10 points. Gone. I regrouped and fired the last 3 rounds perfectly. I thought we were done. At the end of the day we learned our competitors the US Under 25 Team also let some points go. We were only down by 5 points at days end. YEA! We can make that up. Saturday is another day.

30calgal
“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can……….”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

