2011 Burden Memorial Regional Long Range Match – Day 2

Grumble..Humbled…. Need I say more that today was not one of my best? Excuse for the day? Well I have two actually. We will find out tomorrow if my thoughts are correct. First Excuse is bad ammo. Second excuse is my rear sight elevation knob was a little loose. I guess I need to explain what was so bad today.

At 800 yards my score was quite good actually. Only dropped one point with 10X. 149/150. I was first string of the day and the rain started again. On my second round I looked at my ejected case and noticed a primer popped. That is why I have been watching my cases. Tipped the primer out of my gun and went to shot 3. Another one. I would say 12 out of my 18 rounds popped primers. Not good! I do know this is from the same batch of Lapua brass that is on it’s last leg but all the primers? Turns out the wet and humidity got on bullets and in chamber and caused the pressure to expand. I spoke with two others who had same problem. At 900 yards it was dry and no primer problem. But towards end of string I got a an 8 down at 6:00. I did not call that. Thinking it was a fluke I fired again with no changes on sights and went to same spot. Ok, so I raised my sights and hit the spot again! Raised it again and out the top it went.  Did I change my position? Did I need to open up front aperture? Dropped 7 points there. Ouch. Back at 1000 I seemed to be fine and only dropped 4. Then we had our second string at 1000 for the Any Rifle Iron Sight Match and everything went to hell. I had perfect elevations and then bam, down at 6:00 again. Again and again with changes. At that point I was so far down in points I was just trying to experiment and see what changes I could make. Nothing. I do not know what went wrong there.

Back at my car I had Ken Littlefield be a second eye and check out all parts of my rifle to see if I missed any loose screws or anything. He did point out the the rear sight elevation knob was wiggling. But I can’t imagine 3-4 minutes worth? So Charles texted me after the primer fiasco at 800 and said he was going to drive down here after all one day early. He has a brand new batch of ammo with him. I LOVE YOU BABE! I just hope and pray that with a tightened sight and new brass I can start from scratch tomorrow. I can’t win the match at this point but perhaps I can redeem myself and especially have the confidence to shoot well for my team The Wranglers on Monday.

Grumble….Humbled…..No shooting like a girl today….

30calgal

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

