WA ST 600 Yard Championship 2011

Cascade Rifle Range in Ravensdale, WA.

OH SO CLOSE! I think I shot my best match today. And I still could not win. OK I was second or 1st Match Winner. I had an amazing score. But it is second! I also shot with borrowed gear. Everything except my rifle has been shipped to Lodi, WI for my match there next week. I had to borrow Charles’ gear. David Littlefield was just more on fire than me. Congrats David! We both shot well. He just shot really really well. He beat my by 2 X’s. An 80 round match, 4 strings of 20, my final score was 799/800 with 54 X’s. David also had a 799 but with 56 X’s. It just so happened we were on the same firing point all day also. So we knew how each other were doing as the day went on. I tell you though, scores today were high considering the conditions.

It poured rain and was foggy. We called it “Junuary”. Our weather this spring has been truly appalling. I had my front sight aperture opened as wide as it would go. It was so dark with fog you had to. Then I struggled with my rear sight ap to just make it bright enough to even see the gray blurry blob 600 yards away called the black. I think I said a prayer every shot I took. I managed to have two strong strings, one with 15 X and the other with 16. The one with 16 was my last string of the day. Apparently not enough to catch the lead.

I had a photo taken of me next to a 600 yard target. Many friends ask me how big it is. Many entries ago I posted a photo of the 1000 yard target. Notice the X ring on this one is quite small. So to clean it (a perfect score of 200, 20 out of 20 shots) with 16 of those in the X ring is awesome. Not to mention fun and an ego boost.

I am on a 5:30am plane tomorrow morning to Wisconsin. The
Midwestern Palma Championship and WI St Long Range
Championship. 7 days straight of shooting. All at 800, 900 and
1000 yards. But the cool part is we get 2 strings at 1200 yards to shoot. My .308 will not make it that far accurately so I am borrowing someone’s 6.5 – 284 with a scope on it. It is still sling shooting. Not on a bi-pod. I will keep you updated as the days progress. And of course I will continue to shoot like a girl. And win.

30calgal
“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can….”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

