127th B.C. Target Rifle Championship – Day 1

Chilliwack, BC – Canada

Driving through the border with our rifles yesterday was uneventful. I guess I was hoping for some drama but they had several of our American members come through the border that day already so they were almost bored with it. A quick bribe to the Canadian tax payers and we were on our way. We arrived at General Vokes Military Range about 1:00 to start a practice/sight-in at 500 meters. My favorite range as far as appearances go. Beautiful at the foot of mountains. I am glad we did this. I know that there is not much difference between yards and meters and I have 500 and 600yd zeros. But I did not want to show up this morning and have to guess what 300 meters would be and we only are allowed 2 sighters to get on target.

Again, this is a Full bore format where you shoot two to a mound. The round count is small. Only 7 or 10 rounds per string. But these are ICFRA targets. The smallest bullseye you have ever seen. There is no room for error. If you slip in to the 4 ring on this target, it would have still been a 10 on our targets. This scoring is a V Bull instead of an X and then 5, 4, 3, 2, 1. Mentally it hurts much more to drop even one point when you only shoot 7 rounds. Any way, we fired two strings each at 300, 400 and 500 meters. We ended the day with a 2 person Family Team match. Of course Charles and I entered this. (Photos at right) I do not know final scores yet but we dropped 3 points. I can’t

imagine anyone else dropped that many so I doubt
we receive any trophies. We will find out tomorrow.
For the individuals today I dropped only 2 points all
day. As of now I am in 2nd overall aggregate.

My goal this year is to win the Lietenant Governors Cup. It is a combined score of several random strings throughout the 4 days. If you win you get carried by your countrymen on a Sedan Chair led by bagpipers back to the clubhouse. They pin a beautiful embroidered Gold Medal patch on your jacket. I got the bronze in this last year. I must have this win. If I am so lucky I will definitely have a video attached to the blog entry on Monday night.

30calgal
“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can……”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

