Camp Perry Long Range Nationals 2011 – Day 1

Wow. Way to be humbled. I suppose one can’t have a great shooting day every time. I will add today to my “experience library”. To start I did not sleep well last night. Most likely the time difference from west coast to midwest. But for me that is pretty normal not to sleep well. Then when the alarm went off at 5:30am it was really 2:30 for me. Painful! I was told that firing started at 7:30. So I usually arrive an hour early. Especially here because if you don’t you are parking a mile away. I find out start time is 8:30. I am there 2 hours early! And so tired. I am on relay 2 for the day and I am squadded with Scott Grant from the AMU team. My first string at 1000 yards was ok. I dropped 3 points, 197/200 with 6X. This range is very difficult to get a crisp black target. There is no background behind the targets. Only Lake Erie. The morning light was odd and I had one bad elevation shot. Well, I was going to shrug it off and do better at the second string.

The way the relays are set up, relays 1 and 2 go to pull target for 4 strings. We were down there forever! I was falling asleep and the weather was getting hotter by the minute. But I thought maybe that would relax me to shoot well next string. No go. Scott shot first and had a strong wind but it was pretty consistent. I had 8 minutes right wind to start and within 5 minutes it stopped then switched then switched back. I got caught in all of them. It was ugly. I dropped 14 points! I don’t think I have ever done that except when a crossfire happened. My only consolation for the day was that I could share my misery. Many top shooters became human today. Scores overall were very low in the string. Even Brian Litz dropped 7 points. Sorry Brian. But it does make me feel better! Scott my squadding partner kicked butt and got in to both shootoffs for the service rifle category. He did not win those but he had a good day overall.

Tomorrow again is at 1000 yards for The Leach Cup. Then we have  the team event. I am shooting on a great team. I am excited for this. I believe we will do well. Ricky Hunt is coaching. Then after the team match is the shootoff for the Leach Cup. I hope to be in that one! There were no women in today’s shoot off. Usually there are a couple. 

They say a storm is coming through tomorrow and we will get wet for sure. I am ready! I have my rain gear and of course my new rifle rain guard! As my friend Karen called it, “A Rifle Cozy”. I may have to just call it that Karen. It is perfect.

30calgal
“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can…..”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

