Camp Perry National Long Range 2011 – Day 2

My rental car is stranded in my hotel parking lot in 6″ of water. It is 7:30 at night and it has finally stopped raining. For now. Ricky Hunt and Bud Solis drove Brianna and her dad Jeff and Haily and her dad John in to Port Clinton to pick me up so we could go out to dinner. Rick’s was the only vehicle big enough to get through the flooded streets. I know we get a lot of rain in the North West but I have never seen anything like this. The midwest knows how to put on a rain storm. Complete with amazing funnel clouds and lightning and thunder. There were several funnel clouds/tornado whirls starting all day. Thank goodness none of them ever made it to the ground.

So I woke up last night to thunder but by this morning it was only overcast. We managed to get all 4 strings of fire done for the Leach Cup. I was in the pits for the 4th string and as soon as the last shot was fired the drops started falling. We got the targets on the truck and covered with plastic and jumped on the tractors to get back to the 1000 yard line. In that small trip we were soaked. My gear was well covered by a rain tarp so I just grabbed my rifle and started to head for my car. I came upon a metal shack that had about 50 shooters standing in it. I stopped and hung out there for about an hour. Quite fun actually. It never stopped so I thought I will make it to my car and drive to the shack to get my rifle then drive to my gear and get it in inside. When I got to my gear I saw my cart standing in a lake. (The picture at right.) The cart bag is made of canvas and it only hung in to the water a couple of inches but it soaked the water all the way through it and all my stuff. Completely soaked. My tennis shoes were now water shoes walking to my stuff. At this point who cares. Guys in there trucks were sitting there watching me and laughing. As they should. They had to do the same thing. Got it all in the car and pealed apart my log book and score cards for the week and laid them out on the dash and the seats and cranked the heated defrost. After another hour they finally called the matches. I barely made it back to the hotel. The police shut down the road as soon as I passed. But the whole strip in town was bad. I have a tiny compact rental car and I thought I would get stuck for sure. The parking lot at the hotel was not so bad when I arrived but in a few minutes my car was in 6 or more inches. I took my shoes off and waded around grabbing all I could and hiking to my room. My room smells lovely. Musty wet. Looks like a tornado hit my room.

Well, we made it to dinner and made it back. Great adventure all of us riding in Rick’s shooting van. It is a hollowed out tall van with a tool shop and loading benches and gun safes in it. We were standing and sitting on anthing we could find. Very funny if you were there. The rain has stopped and we will see if it goes away for tomorrow. We still don’t have stats for today’s shooting. I did fairly well. Only dropped 2 points but 14yr old Brianna beat me by 3 X’s. She is in the lead for National Junior Champion. What did I tell you? “Shoot Like A Girl!” Way to go Bri.

30calgal
“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can……”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

