Camp Perry Long Range Nationals 2011 – Final Days

Yea for the women! We had several of the national trophies got to women this year. Noma Zinsmaster-Mayo from California won 2, Michelle Gallagher and her sister Sheri Gallagher (Palma Champion) and mom Nancy Tompkins and Washington’s own 14 year old Brianna Rachinski won 4 national junior awards and overall Junior National Champion. So awesome! Impressive scores she had.

The day after the rain storm we had muddy grounds beneath us but were able to complete the 3rd day. In fact the sunny skies came back around noon and except for the existing standing water one would never know there was a 24 hour Midwest storm. I never did get to use my fancy new rain guard. Oh well. I am sure a match here in the NW will take care of that. My team match on the 3rd day was pretty good. We came in 4th overall. The Palma Individual match on day 4 I had a good score but conditions were so nice that there were 7 450’s (cleans) and many 448’s. Last year my score of 445 would have made the Palma 20. Not this year. I got scooted way down the pack. But my score was about 10 points
better than last year. Slow baby steps. My big
disappointment was yesterday in the final team event. The 5 team members are from left to right in photo, Dave Cloft, Bud Solis, Rick Hunt, myself and Eric Smith.
The same 5 of us were together and Ricky was coaching up a storm. We were on fire. Then I crossed fired. I had a clean string too. There goes 10 points and there goes any chance of winning. I was deflated. They tried to cheer me up but I felt awful. Then it happened again. Not with me but Bud did it on his next string. I guess deep down it relieved me a bit that I was not alone in my misery but it was deflating. Then to add insult to injury I was the last person to fire at 1000 and something weird happened with my sights. My zeros were set as they were all week and my 2 sighters went over the target. We brought it down and then it was too low and we could not get the shots to come back up no matter how many clicks we put on. Something was loose or malfunctioning. We could never figure it out. Half way through the string the shots went in and stayed in the middle. Not sure why all of a sudden. When finished Rick asked me where my sights were. I said they ended up where we started. My 1000 yard zero. Yet the first 6 shots did not go there. No explanation. I am sure there is, trust me. But we can’t figure it out as of now. I am shooting a 600 yard match in Seattle on Sunday so I will test it out there and see if rear sight knob is turning and adjusting correctly. Or if anything slips. What a heart break that was. We knew we were not going to win anything but to finish my day and trip like that crushed me. Welcome to the fickle world of shooting.

Let’s put this behind me and chalk it up to learning and experience. Heck, this is year 2 for me. All the women shooters I mentioned earlier who are and have been national champions a few times have been shooting for 20 – 30 years. I have time.

Thank you to the NRA and CMP and all of their volunteers for keeping the tradition of shooting competitively alive and putting on this amazing event every year for pistol, small bore, high power and long range. See you again next year.

30calgal
“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can…….”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

