Testing! Testing!

An online ammunition distributor, AmmoForSale.com approached me recently through my 30calgal blog to ask if I would test and review some ammunition for them in my own style. Who am I to turn down an opportunity to shoot! They asked what I would be interested in testing. I mentioned all of the calibers I shoot and said that I only shoot a custom 308 hand-load in my Palma rifle so no need to send any 308. I know, what a snob I am. Clever guy, he sent me a couple boxes of 308! 2 boxes of 20 rounds of S&B 308W 147G FMJ. Of course it makes perfect sense. My specialty is mid and long range competition with a hand load of a 155g 308 and each expensive component that goes in to it. I have never fired a factory load through my Palma Rifle. I am so curious now! Is all the effort I go through worth it? Well, yes perhaps. But! I was VERY satisfied with the groups I got with this ammo.

A majority of my matches are at 600 yards so I took my boxes of S&B out to that range. The conditions were perfect for testing. It was an overcast day and there was not a stitch of wind. Easy to get zeros. I treated it as though I were at a match which is 20 shots for record with unlimited sighters in a time limit of 25 minutes. Unlimited to me is 5 rounds. I had my target puller mark all of the For Record shots with white pasters so we could get a photo of the results at the end. I also plotted all shots in my book. Once I went for record I never touched my sights in elevation or windage. Since the conditions were so calm I just held my position and let the bullets fly down range. Out of 20 rounds only 4 went out of the 10 ring. (As seen in photo) I call all of my shots when fired and promise that to the best of my ability I held center on those. And remember, most testing for groups are shot from the bench. I use a sling for support in the prone position. Factory loads I believe are machine made and inconsistencies may happen. Trust me, it can happen with hand loads also. But look at the results in the photo! This is from 600 yards! Most shooters are not going to be that far out.

So for my final review. Would I use this ammunition in one of my competitions? No. Would I use it for plinking or target practice? Yes! Would I use it in a 3 Gun competition. YES! Would I trust my life with it against Zombies? Absolutely! And that is worth every penny.

30calgal
“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can……..”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

