New Washers In My RPA Quadlock Receiver

I just got my rifle back from my gunsmith Jim Cloward last night. (I just realized I have two gunsmiths named Jim now!) I mentioned last month that I thought I was having strange un-called shots in matches at the end of the season last year. I did a side by side test to our Hall action rifle and I knew something was wrong. A friend thought it could be that the trigger springs (washers) might need replacing. Others said no way that those last forever in a Quadlock. Well it turns out the washers were bad. Not only bad but a couple of the washers were actually broken. Over time it got weaker and weaker. Normally the bolt action is really tough to work. It is the stiffest I have ever used. But that is the personality of a Quadlock. The last few times I fired it it was as light as any other action. Not good! So Jim replaced all of the washers and I dry fired it last night. Wow what a difference a day makes. It is back to the good ol stiff bolt action. Really stiff. Trigger feels great. I also mentioned before that the system on this action is not a coil spring as with most firing pins. These are curved washers. I found a photo at right of what it looks like. I took my lovely rifle out to a local match today at 500 yards to test it out.

I must say I was so happy to shoot my rifle again. I do miss the zen of slow fire. It has been a couple of months since I put rounds down range. Once again the weather was terrible. It rained all day. I am wishing I lived in AZ right about now. This is getting tiresome. Anyway, the rifle shot beautifully. I am confident to take it out again to long range. My first 1000 yard match won’t be until May in Eastern Washington. So 500 and 600 yard practices will have to do for now. It helps in training for a hard hold and smooth trigger pull. I also need to sit down again and load a bunch of ammo. I slammed together 65 rounds last night for this match. Makes me nervous when I rush like that. Can’t do that when I have a big event to shoot in. At least I loaded before I had the two martinis.

30CalGal
“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can………”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

