2012 MGM Ironman – Day 3

We made it. Day 3. Only 2 stages today. The most fun stages of all. Stage 3 was the tower where you climb up a high and narrow ladder and shoot your rifle from the top at a dueling tree 175 yards away and some flashers at 225 and 325 yards. Then you have to slide down the slide with an unloaded rifle and at the bottom lay prone and shoot the same targets again. I was the first shooter of this stage. I had a lovely crash landing right on my bum at the bottom of the slide. It was a graceful bounce though and my rifle never left its position of facing down range. I have it on video and will show it once I have it edited. My shots from the tower were great. I did well on the tree and got the flashers quickly. For some reason shooting from the ground the second time did not go as well. I could not find the same sight picture. This stage I also timed out on. Bummer. But I enjoyed it. I forgot to mention that James Dinardo on my squad was kind enough to loan me his FN shotgun for this last day. He saved me! How did I repay him? By bleeding all over his gun.

I can’t seem to remember how I did it but I managed to slice a chunk of my thumb off. Well it looked like that anyway. And it bled like that. James never welded up the gate on his gun and I think I caught it on “the devil prong”. I am not sure. I remember seeing some blood when I was loading more shells as I was walking down the course. Then when I grabbed my pistol I saw more. It was all over his hand guard and some of the shell holders on the side and all over my pistol grip. When I got back to the line I notice drops on my shoes and pants and on the ground. Sheesh, it looked like a murder scene. Somehow my index finger was bleeding also. I don’t remember how I got all of my bruises either. When we got to the final zip line stage one RO saw my bandaged and taped fingers and said “Yep, that is a true Ironman image. Nice job.” The perfect way to end this match was the zip line.

Stage 4 was truly a spray and pray stage. How can you not when your zooming through the air super fast. This was one of the stages I felt they were short handed. They could have used a 3rd RO here. The guy running the zip line had to be at the top to hook you in. He did a quick lesson at the bottom to show how to put on harnesses and then make your way to the top of the tower. Yikes! What if we put in on incorrectly? I was a bit nervous but thank goodness we had smart people on our squad and they got us all snuggled in. The way these harnesses fit snuggly around your private areas I was very glad I was a girl today. When at the top of the tower the RO would check your balance so that when zipping you were level to point the gun in the right direction. You had your pistol at the ready with mag in but chamber empty and 2 very hard gripping hands. He would set you loose and you lift your legs off the platform and off you went. The other RO stood off to the side further ahead and lowered his hand when it was safe for you to rack the slide and start shooting. I am not really sure what I was shooting at. Things whizzed by me so fast. All I know is that I was giggling. A perfect way to end the day and the match.

Thanks again to the ROs. Thanks to MGM for putting this match on and to all of their sponsors. Thanks to my awesome Squad 5 for putting up with me as a newbie. I had so much fun although it was humbling and grueling. Thank you to my sponsors, West Coast Armory, JP Enterprises, Nosler, ESS Eyepro, and Leupold. I hope to be better at this game soon and give you something to be more proud of. I think I will stick to some nice quiet local matches that are not 12 – 14 hours long for 3 days and over 1000 rounds of ammo.

30CalGal – “Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can…..”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

