2012 Tri-Cities USPSA Multi-Gun Match

2012 Tri-Cities USPSA Multi Gun – Our squad. A few ran away before the photo was taken.

What a difference a year makes. My very first 3 gun match was this one last year. At that time I was not sure if I wanted to continue on with the sport. It was a really difficult and LONG match. We were almost in the dark when we were finishing. Now that I look back, that was a trial and it was basically a version of an Ironman. I was consoled when other experienced shooters told me that was an unusually difficult match. Whew. This year was an awesome 6 stage event that was almost half of the round count. I am not saying it was easy by any means. But they were better stages and we were finished at a decent time. Again, Charles and I were on a great squad and we all had a really fun time. Except for the first stage of the day, I did much better this year and even I could see the improvements I’ve made.

Our first stage was a long range course. There were flasher targets scattered at distances

An awkward position to say the least! Shooting at long range targets

up the hill to about 350 yards. You had to hit all 6 flashers from two platforms. One was an incline facing the range and the other was an awkward incline facing away. As you can see in the photo at right it was not comfortable. I had to use all muscle to hold a sight picture. Steady it was not. But I managed to hit 5 out of the 6 flashers in that position before I timed out. By the way, everyone timed out on this stage. But I got up from the platform and was “high fiving” myself for hitting 11 out of 12 until I was told that I completely forgot all of the paper targets that were right in front of me. I can’t remember how many there were. But enough that that one stage cost me so many points it put me at the bottom of the pack for the day. At least I was not dead last! I think I was about 40 out of 55 in the scoped tactical. If I had not forgotten those targets I believe I could have been at the middle of the pack. Charles did very well at the 29th spot. Right in the middle. I had one other stage as seen in the video that I lost time because I thought I had missed one rifle target. So I ran all the way back to that side of the range to engage it and realized I did already hit it. I am sure everyone on my squad was shaking their heads wondering what the heck I was doing! This is 3 gun. Can you keep

Randy and Charlie from Warne and myself finding much needed shade in the 85 degree heat.

your brain together when the timer starts? The best thing is that all of my equipment ran perfectly.

I never doubt my JP rifle but my Tanfoglio and my FN SLP MK I have kept me on edge in the past. Ever since Jim Corolo my gunsmith at West Coast Armory overhauled those two for me they have run flawlessly. All of my mags for the Tanfo work as well. The FN that WCA sponsors me with has not had any problems. Yippy! My Leupold scope was awesome as usual and looks so cool mounted on the red Warne mount. (Bear with me as I

Taking a stroll with my “kids”. This is as close as I get!!

do a bit of Link Love here) They now have a bright green color of mounts in their Zombie collection. In fact we had the Warne team and owner Charlie on our squad. They gave me a red front iron sight mount to match my scope mount. It is called the A645 adapter. It is a 45 degree angled mount. Now I need to get the off set iron sights. I realize now how nice they will be for the close range targets. I struggle with the scope when some targets are only 3 – 15 yards away. This way I can pre-set the power of my scope to the longer range and not spend time trying to adjust it in the middle of the stage. I used my Nosler 77 grain bullets for all of the rifle rounds. I had an easy time hitting my long range targets. And my ESS eye pro sun glasses. It was a bright day out there and these glasses truly are awesome. The staff team of Colt was on our squad as well. Colt is really making a big and successful leap in to the 3 gun world. Both Warne and Colt were just a couple of the many sponsors of the match. I

Charles aiming at some mid range targets. Shooting through these little holes was tougher than it looked.

was hoping to win the Colt rifle they donated for the prize table but no such luck this time. Thank you to Seekins Precision and the many other sponsors who contributed to the prize table and match. Another NW owned company, these guys are out of Lewiston, ID.

Sadly it may be awhile before my next multi-gun match. For some reason this area does not host many. Oregon has several ranges that have monthly matches but that is a long trek for one day. Although we have many ranges locally, none of them want 3 gun events there. Unfortunately there are so many clicks and politics in each of our clubs/ranges. Multi gun is looked down upon by the other disciplines. This is a topic I could fill many blog pages with. I hope to change that.

30CalGal – “Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can….”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 Tri-Cities USPSA Multi-Gun Match

  1. Steve Gaspar says:

    It was fun shooting with you Annette. Warne, Colt, Seekins, and the rest of the sponsors were great. See you next year.

    Steve Gaspar

Leave a Reply

