WA ST High Power Championship 2011 – Day 1

What a day! 80 degrees. The first time since last August have we had this kind of temperatures. Pathetic eh? This is the weekend I had to dust off my AR15 to participate in this match. I have been so involved in Long Range prone shooting that except for practice on last Thursday I have not fired this rifle since the 29 Palms match last November. For those of you not familiar with this course of fire it is a 4 stage event. We do 20 rounds of slow fire offhand at 200 yards. Then again at 200 we do 2 strings of seated rapid fire of 10 rounds each with a magazine change in each string. You get 60 seconds to shoot 10 rounds with mag change. Then we go back to 300 and do 2 strings of prone rapid with magazine changes. Then finally back to 600 yards and fire 20 rounds slow prone in 20 minutes. (Tomorrow I will have a video of me doing one of the rapid strings during the CMP Leg match.)

The format of shooting today was not a normal one since this is a two day event with a Registered, State Leg and CMP Leg matches. So we did a double of the 200 and 300 yard positions. Tomorrow we will do a double at 600 yards and then go from 600 backwards to 200 for the final CMP Leg match. (I will explain Leg matches in another entry). Long story short I shot very well today! The only part I struggled with was the second string of offhand which was the last one of the day. I was so tired I could not hold very well and break my shots off in time. But all of my rapid fires were great. High Power really is Charles’ forte. He is on a mission to get his Distinguished Badge. He only needs 6 more points. One needs 30. Tomorrow’s CMP Leg is where he can get it. It is a great honor to have this Badge. He shot super well today and I know he will win the points tomorrow. Good luck babe! No pressure or anything. Everyone is watching you!

30calgal
“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can………”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

