2012 Camp Perry US Long Range Nationals – Arrival

Riding the tractor tram to the pits during practice today.

$182. That is what Delta Airlines charged me for my duffel bag (under weight mind you) and two rifle cases. I just about had a melt down. Crooks!!! Which means I have the same fee on the way home. I hope I never have to fly them again. Other than that my trip was easy getting here. Except for lugging a duffel and 2 rifle cases around the airport. Fellow travelers took pity on me and helped me out. I drove an hour to the base and found the Pitre family’s RV. They were kind enough to drive the rest of my gear to Perry from Seattle along with all of the WA Junior’s gear. I checked in to my hotel and spent the evening getting all of my stuff organized for Friday.

Friday (today) is a day to arrive early and get all of the registration packets and stroll

A Rainy entrance to the US National Guard Base.

through what is left of Commercial Row. If you have never been to Perry, Commercial Row is a line of huts that vendors such as Sinclair, Midway, and any High Power related company sell their goods directly. If you are driving here it is a good time to load up on powders and things that could be expensive to ship. Many people “complain” their paychecks go right out the door when they get here. The problem for the long range shooters is that we are the very last week shooting at Perry. All of the good stuff has been sold and most vendors shut their doors after tomorrow. I know I will be visiting Sinclair’s hut tomorrow to return a trigger.

After all of the sweat and tears that Jim Cloward my gunsmith put in to rebuild the trigger again for me two days ago it broke down again today during practice today. Thank goodness we had a sight in for team members at 300 yards. I took my rifle and my “back-up” rifle that a friend Wayne was kind enough to loan me. I wanted to sight in both at 300 just in case I might need his at the end of the week. I shot mine first. A few shots in to it the bolt would not engage again. I was crushed. I grabbed Wayne’s RPA and put the sights on quickly and finished out my time getting it zero’d. This rifle is lovely I must say. The only problem is that Wayne has been shooting with a really heavy trigger. I think over 3 pounds! No way can I use it that way for this week. He said I could lighten it. I went to the master of Quadlock receivers, Bob Gamboa, and he changed the position and weight of the trigger. It has a sweet first stage now and light as a feather trigger. But so different. I spent my afternoon dry firing in the room and fiddling with perfect sling and rifle adjustments. Another lucky break is that my loaded ammo is a bit shorter than his loads he used. I don’t need to frantically re-seat bullets. I just hope they are not too short and bounce around before the lans. But I feel very confident right now. It will be a good week. I’ve done well on borrowed equipment before. We were able to meet the international teams briefly today at the practice.

Australia, UK, Canada and Japan are present. We will have a dinner and meet and greet on Sunday night and I am excited to spend more time with them. The Japanese don’t speak much English but they do have one interpreter. This should be interesting! We start shooting  tomorrow, Saturday at 1000 yards. 3 days of 1000 yards and then we have the Palma match and then The America’s Cup on Wed. It consists of 300, 600, 900 and 1000 yards. The US Team Captains will pick the team for that through the week as they see how people are shooting. I was invited to the 300 yard practice today. I did not realize it was an invite only practice. I guess I am thought of as a possible candidate. I am honored.

30CalGal – “Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can…..”

 

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

