Phoenix – Day 2 and 3 – Palma Team and Individuals – Hiccup?

Yes, I said hiccup. Who hiccups when your shooting? Apparently me. My last shot of the day today and I only needed a 9 to be in the running. Nope. Hiccup. 7. Low. Scream. Seriously?

Today was the Palma Individuals Event. At 800 I cleaned it, 150/150 with 13X. Thought that was pretty good only to find out there were several 13’s and Abe (6′ 7″, 20 something from Portland) got a 14X. Sheesh. At 900 I had 3 points drop that I did not call AT ALL. Happens I guess but very frustrating. At 1000 I had my work cut out for me. I was so proud of my wind reading. I only dropped 2 until “the hiccup”. Not that I want to see others do poorly but I was happy to see that the top people struggled also. It looks like one of our juniors from WA, Michael Storer will walk away with at least a 3rd place for today. Nice shooting Michael.

Yesterday was the Palma Team event. We scraped up 5 of us and came in 4th overall. Great considering we were all skill levels. I had high team score. Woo Hoo! Ricky Hunt was our coach and as usual did perfectly. I am waiting for another shooter to send me our team photo and I will post it here then. I found out that I was 9th overall for the Fullbore match on Wed. Actually ok with that. The top 10 names are good.

Tomorrow we have the ANY/IRON sight team event. Also there is a ANY/ANY team event. Scopes. Ricky and Bud corralled me in to shooting this. I am using Ricky’s rifle. He is about 6″ shorter than I am. We will be fitting me to the rifle tonight and taking notes so I can drop down tomorrow and shoot away. This should be interesting. I have poked fun at scope shooters in the past. Now Karma is coming back to get me. I am so excited to shoot this. With Ricky coaching I just need to hold where he tells me. Now for that wobble zone……

“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can…….

I believe one can find results for this match at http://www.desertsharpshoooters.com or the long range forum.

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

