Boomershoot 2012 With ESS Eyepro

I am not sure where to begin. Shooting targets that explode? The people
we met? Our great sponsor ESS? The event itself and the amazing
 volunteers who made it so great? I will start with the latter. Joe 
Huffman is the Boomershoot Mastermind. After attending a similar
event in 1996 Joe and his kids decided to try this on their own. In
1998 was there first trial match with about 7 shooters. Long story
made a little shorter, over the years the location of the ranges
changed and also the evolution of the explosives. It took years
of experimenting with the right chemical mixture, the size and even
the containers. It seems that it was not until 2007 that the explosive
formula ran like clockwork. This event has sold out every year. They
 get participants from all over the country and some from outside.
This is not for professional snipers. This is for recreational shooters.
 It is a fun, extremely safe and friendly event. Yes you need your
equipment and knowledge of firearm safety and skills. But they have
 a great coaching crew for 2 days to help you with wind reading,

 team spotting and zeroing in. Now for the volunteers who help make
this so successful.

The coaches, the RO’s (Range Safety Officers) and of course the people
 who spent weeks making each individual exploding box. I am guessing
between the 3 days of shooting there were a couple thousand of them.
About 1200 just on Sunday. The best part is the charity that Joe
donates a large portion of the event to.

Project Valour – IT of Soldier’s Angels. This organization helps in many
 ways our soldiers and their families. Check out their website.
 Inspiring stories. Ready for stories?

I was not quite sure how I was going to handle cameras following
our every move this weekend. After awhile I did not even notice they were there. Which worries me a little too. We had a microphone attached to us all of the time. Who knows what they caught on audio when I was not paying attention? One thing is for sure, I cannot wait to see the final cut. It may be a couple of weeks but I will be sure to post it right away. I will tell you one thing. I felt pretty cool wearing the competition shirts ESS made for us. We had our names, logo and extra sponsors on shirts. And of course we wore our ESS eyepro all

weekend. Because it was mostly sunny I wore the Hi-Def Copper Lens on my
 Crossbow frames. (wearing in shooting photo) The copper lens made the
 landscape and targets pop. My favorite now is the pair of CDI MAX Sunglasses in the Dessert Tan color. I am feeling very Terminator in these. You will see me sporting these all of the time. (wearing these in our ESS group photo) Our first mission when the event timer went off was to find the pink stuffed bunny we were told about. Charles and Shelley located it

up on the hill about 600 yards out. All you could really see was its head
poking out from behind a berm. But we had his cute pink ears in our sights.
 Shelley was spotting for me and we could hear down the line that everyone
 was after this bunny. Through my scope I could see bullet traces all around
 this thing. Guess what? We got it! Shelley walked me
 right in to it. Unfortunately it did not explode. But I shot it in the head
 and everyone saw his fluffy little brains fly out of its head. Then he fell
 over and disappeared behind the berm. So now no one could get to him.
It was all over. But we made the hit!

Even though there are 1200 targets out there they are only 3″-6″ in size. They are not easy to hit. 100 people were shooting all day and there were many many targets left over. We hit about 8 on Sunday. Joe told us that was about right. Whew. The best explosive was the opening ceremony where they blew up stuff that made the biggest fireball I have ever seen. I had to check my eyebrows to see if they were still there. It was hot! Trying to find someone who caught it on video. At the lunch break they blew up an anvil 100 feet in the air. (Video at right). They also shot bowling balls out of a cannon that flew 400 yards. Come on. Who would not love to see this? This event was nothing but fun from beginning to end.

I will drag as many people as I can for next year. Even without the camera crew following me I plan on going back. It is a safe and professional event. I thank Leupold for my awesome scope. I feel like a pro in using a scope now. I knew how and when to adjust the magnification and the paralax function with out thinking. (Leupold is now sending me one for my JP Rifle as well. Can’t wait!) Thank you Nosler for my 168 grain bullets. (Nosler is supplying me with my Palma bullets and .223 for 3 Gun as well. Accurate as always. And of course Ari and Steve from ESS that allowed Shelley and I to do their first test marketing of Eyepro for civilians. We wish you success with your new product lines. Andy and Bruce with Couch Creative Productions, you made being followed by a camera very easy. I felt like a superstar.

**More photos and videos to come from our professional crew!

30CalGal
“Shoot Like A Girl! If You Can…..”

About 30calgal

Member of the Unites States Rifle Team. 2011 NRA National Civilian Record Holder of 300 Yards. 2011 B.C. Rifle Champion (First American woman and second woman ever to win this in 127 years) and more. Starting the fast and exciting world of 3 Gun or Multi-Gun Competition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boomershoot 2012 With ESS Eyepro

  1. Pingback: Starring Roles in ESS Eyepro and Boomershoot | 30calgal

  2. Pingback: Starring Roles in ESS Eyepro and Boomershoot Video Series | 30CalGal.com

Leave a Reply

